Leave a comment

can’t get enough craft books

When I was a wee crafter, one of my aunts always got me monster craft books for X-mas. I was in heaven reading those (they were from Britain, also) and I remember being SO SAD when I got to the end. Well, that feeling has been revived with sewing books, lately. I forgot I ordered Sew & Stow by Betty Oppenheimer (three cheers for that name) when it arrived in my mailbox not too long ago. I have a few thoughts for Betty and her publisher, in case you-all are thinking of re-writing it:

  • Putting all the pictures in the front is like putting the end of an Agatha Christie novel into the prologue! I love flipping through each chapter–there’s a little thrill in not knowing what project is coming next.
  • It’s cool that you want me to make my own patterns, but don’t include them as projects if you’re not going to tell me how to do it. Come on!
  • I suppose point 2 is a stock complaint but you were bound to get it with instructions like "Think about what you want your sleep sack to be like." (paraphrase)
  • I’m a big fan of the guidelines for choosing fabric. I also like your conversational style. But I think this could have been a bigger book. The "easy" projects are kind of…too easy. I mean, I haven’t made any yet, so I don’t actually know what I’m talking about, but looking at big squares of fabric with hemmed edges doesn’t really thrill me.

It’s definitely a pretty book, and I do not regret the purchase. I plan to sew and stow everything in the apartment I will be moving into in (knock on wood) 2+ weeks. I think the real problem is that this books ends. I still hate when that happens.

Leave a Reply

