Leave a comment

why do I diy?

Scoutie Girl wants to know and I want to tell her:

I do it myself because I like saying, “Thanks, I made it myself!”  Actually, that’s a line from a Singer sewing book published in the 70s that I found after my great-grandma died, and it had a little note in it from my great-grandma to my mom saying, “I give this to you not because you can’t sew but because you can!”  And that’s the real reason I make stuff–because my great-grandma did it, my grandma did it, and my mom did it, and they taught me how to do it.  And I also inherited the gene that makes me love floral fabric, like this stuff from my friend Christine:

bright 70s floral fabric

can't...get...enough...flowers

Leave a Reply

