Leave a comment

waxing lyrical ii

This past weekend I was taken on a surprise trip by my buddy and it included…

ICA banner featuring Charles LeDray

I am a newly converted Charles LeDray FAN.  Not only because his last name is complicated, just like mine.  His job is making miniature things like clothing and pottery.  And he’s really good at it.  Really really good.  He makes his own buttons.  He makes his own zippers.  The man is a machine.

Got me thinking a thought I have often while in museums looking at weird stuff and in concert venues watching weird shows.  It is:  artists say, I’m going to do whatever I want, and you’re going to pay me.

Obviously, there’s a lot of things that artists say and do to get paid, and not all good artists get paid, and not all artists getting paid get paid enough, but it’s still a pretty cool thought.  It’s encouraging and uplifting.  Make tiny pottery for seven years, and one day you, too, can get an exhibition in the ICA.

 

miniature pottery in solid black by Charles LeDray on a piece of glass

Yuh-huh!

 

Leave a Reply

